skip navigation

Power Team Inducted into Hall of Fame

08/12/2018, 12:15pm CDT
By Denise Workman

Congratulating our 2009 KC Power 16 Open National Championship team who were inducted into the 2018 USA Volleyball Heart of America Region Hall of Fame. In Case you don't know about this team. In 2009 they had 9 players Grace Whitley (Bishop Miege/University of Oklahoma; Shelby Workman (Bishop Miege/University of Kentucky, Hanna Forst (St. James Academy/South Carolia-University of North Texas) Lauren Ford (St. Thomas Aquinas/Lipscomb University) Michala Boehm (Archbishop O'Hara) Lauren Longbine (Emporia/Wichita State) Liz Powell (Bishop Miege/University of North Texas-Washburn University) and Taylor Migliazzo (St. Teresa's/Oklahoma). Coaches Mike & Danielle Shum Stowell. This team was very special in many ways. As coach Mike stated, they weren't the biggest or tallest or even the most talented team (pardon me? :)) but they refused to lose. They worked so well together all for a common team goal. Where one would slip the other would come through with a WOW play. Winning every tournament they entered in 2009 all in the Open Division and they also won Power league 4 years in a row, and 5 back to back National Qualifiers. Such a special group of players, parents and coaches. We are proud of our 1st ever National Championship Team and are extremely proud to see you be recognized for your unbelievable accomplishments. Your banner hangs high!. #PFOE. A huge thank you to Heart of America Region Volleyball for this very prestigious honor and a very special thank you to Artego Pizza for hosting our fabulous after party.

Tag(s): Home  News